WikiDishwasher
Menu

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Read the disclosure ›

Best Dishwashers with 9 or More Place Settings: 12 Picks Compared

The Empava 24-inch built-in is our top pick for this group: it lists 15 place settings, 8 wash cycles, ENERGY STAR certification, and a 45 to 49 dB noise range. That combination covers the capacity, program, quiet-running, and efficiency details most large-load shoppers look for. We picked it by comparing the published specifications in 12 dishwasher catalog listings, all with capacities of 9 or more place settings. No dishwasher was tested in a kitchen.

12 picks from 12 dishwashers that match this guide with a price we can quote today. All prices are live and show when they were read.

Our picks in brief

Find your match

  • For large family meals: If you regularly load after dinner for six or more, choose a model with a listed 14, 15, or 16 place settings rather than a 10- or 12-place-setting unit. See pick 1
  • For apartments and rentals: A portable dishwasher such as the SPT connects to a faucet and can move with you, which is the practical route when you cannot add a plumbed 24-inch built-in. See pick 9
  • For custom cabinet fronts: A panel-ready dishwasher lets you mount a custom front, so the appliance can blend with your cabinets instead of showing a stainless face. See pick 5
  • For half-load households: The Fisher & Paykel Double DishDrawer divides 14 place settings into two drawers, so you are not forced to run a full single tub for a small load. See pick 12

12 picks, up close

1 Best overall

Empava 24 Inch Built-in Dishwasher

Empava 24 Inch Built-in Dishwasher

Type
Built-in
Width
24 inch
Place settings
9 or more
Noise level
45 to 49 dB
Stainless steel
Yes
ENERGY STAR
Yes

$547.71 (as of 11/04/2026 22:46 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

The Empava has the strongest combination of listed specifications in this group: 15 place settings, 8 wash cycles, ENERGY STAR certification, and a 45 to 49 dB noise range. It is one of two models here with a listed 15-place-setting capacity, and it pairs that with the largest cycle count alongside the Equator top-control model. The listing does not mention a third rack, so buyers who want that extra shelf should compare the Sharp and Equator third-rack models.

Pros

  • Listed 15 place settings, more than most models in this list
  • 8 listed wash cycles, tied for the most in this list
  • ENERGY STAR certified and listed in the 45 to 49 dB noise band
  • Auto door dry and top controls are listed

Cons

  • No third rack is listed
  • No fingerprint-resistant finish is mentioned
  • No serving-piece count accompanies the 15-place-setting figure

Good fit if

  • Households that regularly load 12 or more place settings in one cycle
  • Buyers who want a built-in with ENERGY STAR certification and a 45 to 49 dB noise specification

Skip if

  • Anyone who wants a third rack
  • Kitchens set on a panel-ready or custom-front look

Verdict: A well-rounded large-capacity built-in on paper, with strong capacity, cycle choice, and efficiency specs.

2 Largest stated capacity

Bertazzoni DW24T3IT 24 Inch Wide 16 Place Setting Built-In Fingerprint

Bertazzoni DW24T3IT 24 Inch Wide 16 Place Setting Built-In Fingerprint

Type
Built-in
Width
24 inch
Place settings
9 or more
Stainless steel
Yes

$1,177.00 (as of 11/05/2026 05:39 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

The Bertazzoni lists 16 place settings, the highest capacity in this list, in a 24-inch built-in format with a fingerprint-resistant stainless finish. It is the pick to consider when maximum listed capacity is the goal and you are willing to trade ENERGY STAR certification and a noise specification, neither of which is listed.

Pros

  • 16 place settings, the highest listed capacity in this list
  • 24-inch built-in design listed
  • Fingerprint-resistant stainless steel listed
  • Top control layout listed

Cons

  • No noise level is listed
  • No ENERGY STAR certification is listed
  • No wash cycle count is listed

Good fit if

  • Households that want the largest single-load listed capacity here
  • Buyers who prefer top controls and a fingerprint-resistant stainless finish

Skip if

  • Anyone who needs an ENERGY STAR certified dishwasher
  • Anyone who needs a listed noise specification before ordering

Verdict: Choose it when maximum place-setting capacity outranks efficiency and noise details that are not listed.

3 Best built-in with a third rack

Equator 24″ Built-In Dishwasher with 3rd Rack

Equator 24″ Built-In Dishwasher with 3rd Rack

Type
Built-in
Width
24 inch
Place settings
9 or more
Noise level
50 dB and up
ENERGY STAR
Yes

$559.00 (as of 11/04/2026 22:47 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

This Equator built-in is the third-rack model with the highest listed place-setting count in the group, 15 place settings, and it also lists 8 wash cycles and ENERGY STAR certification. The tradeoff is the noise range, listed as 50 dB and up, which is a step above the 45 to 49 dB models. Buyers who want a third rack and top controls should weigh that against the quieter Sharp SDW6506JS.

Pros

  • 15 place settings with a listed third rack
  • 8 wash cycles, tied for the most in this list
  • ENERGY STAR certified
  • Top control and stainless tub are listed

Cons

  • Noise is listed as 50 dB and up, not in the 45 to 49 dB band
  • Cycle names are not listed beyond the count of 8
  • No fingerprint-resistant finish is mentioned

Good fit if

  • Households that want a third rack in a 15-place-setting built-in
  • Buyers who want ENERGY STAR certification and top controls

Skip if

  • People who want the lower listed noise range of the 45 to 49 dB models
  • Kitchens where a third rack is not needed

Verdict: A high-capacity built-in with a third rack and a long list of cycles, despite the higher listed noise range.

4 Best ADA-compliant built-in

Equator 24-Inch Built-In Dishwasher

Equator 24-Inch Built-In Dishwasher

Type
Built-in
Width
24 inch
Place settings
9 or more
Noise level
50 dB and up
Stainless steel
Yes
ENERGY STAR
Yes

$564.13 (as of 11/04/2026 22:47 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

The Equator built-in is the one model in this group whose listing explicitly mentions ADA compliance, so it is the clearest choice for accessible full-size installations. It combines that with ENERGY STAR certification, 14 place settings, and a stainless steel tub. Its listed noise range is 50 dB and up, which is not the lower end of this list.

Pros

  • ADA compliance is explicitly listed
  • ENERGY STAR certified
  • Listed 14 place settings
  • Stainless steel tub listed

Cons

  • Noise range is listed as 50 dB and up
  • No wash cycle count is listed
  • No third rack is mentioned

Good fit if

  • Accessible-design projects that need an ADA-compliant dishwasher
  • Buyers who want a certified built-in with a stainless tub

Skip if

  • Anyone who wants a 45 to 49 dB noise specification
  • Anyone who wants a third rack

Verdict: The most clearly ADA-compliant full-size dishwasher in this list, with a solid 14-place-setting capacity.

5 Best panel-ready

KoolMore 24 in. Panel Ready 14 Place Settings 45 DB Dishwasher

KoolMore 24 in. Panel Ready 14 Place Settings 45 DB Dishwasher

Type
Built-in
Width
24 inch
Place settings
9 or more
Noise level
45 to 49 dB
Stainless steel
Yes
ENERGY STAR
Yes

$950.99 (as of 11/04/2026 23:46 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

The KoolMore is the panel-ready model in this guide, so it is the pick when the dishwasher front needs to match custom cabinets rather than show a standard stainless face. It also lists 14 place settings, ENERGY STAR certification, and a 45 to 49 dB noise range. No wash cycle count is given, so compare program lists with the Empava or Equator if cycles matter more than the front design.

Pros

  • Panel-ready front is explicitly listed
  • 14 place settings listed
  • ENERGY STAR certified
  • Listed in the 45 to 49 dB noise band

Cons

  • No wash cycle count is listed
  • Custom panel is not listed as included
  • No third rack is mentioned

Good fit if

  • Kitchens with custom cabinet fronts that need a matching dishwasher door
  • Buyers who want ENERGY STAR certification and a lower noise range

Skip if

  • Anyone who wants a ready stainless front without a custom panel
  • Households that need a third rack

Verdict: The strongest panel-ready choice in this list, with certification and a lower listed noise specification.

6 Best for sanitize rinse

Kenmore 22-14632 24" Built-In Dishwasher

Kenmore 22-14632 24" Built-In Dishwasher

Type
Built-in
Width
24 inch
Place settings
9 or more
Noise level
45 to 49 dB
ENERGY STAR
Yes

$599.99 (as of 11/04/2026 23:42 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

The Kenmore listing is the one here that names a sanitize rinse, along with UltraWash Plus, SmartWash, Accela Wash, and TurboDry. It is a 24-inch built-in with ENERGY STAR certification and a 45 to 49 dB noise range. Because the listing does not list an exact place-setting count, only the 9-or-more category, confirm the load capacity with the maker if you need a precise number.

Pros

  • Sanitize rinse is named in the listing
  • ENERGY STAR certified
  • 24-inch built-in with a 45 to 49 dB noise range
  • Named technologies include UltraWash Plus and TurboDry

Cons

  • Exact place-setting count is not listed, only 9 or more
  • No total wash cycle count is given
  • No third rack is mentioned

Good fit if

  • Buyers who want a sanitize rinse option in a quiet built-in
  • Households that want an ENERGY STAR certified model with a recognized brand

Skip if

  • Anyone who needs an exact place-setting count before buying
  • People who want a third rack

Verdict: A quiet, certified built-in with named cleaning programs, but its exact capacity must be confirmed with the maker.

7 Best pocket-handle design

Sharp SDW6504MS Stainless Steel Dishwasher

Sharp SDW6504MS Stainless Steel Dishwasher

Width
24 inch
Place settings
9 or more
Noise level
50 dB and up
Stainless steel
Yes

$449.99 (as of 11/05/2026 01:10 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

The Sharp SDW6504MS is the model in this list with a pocket handle, a recessed style that sits flush with the front of the door. It lists 12 place settings, 5 wash cycles, and a 50 dB and up noise range. If the handle shape matters to your kitchen layout, this is the Sharp to compare with the front-touch SDW6506JS.

Pros

  • Pocket handle design is explicitly listed
  • 12 place settings listed
  • 24-inch stainless model with a hybrid tub listed
  • 5 wash cycles listed

Cons

  • Noise range is listed as 50 dB and up
  • No ENERGY STAR certification is mentioned
  • No third rack is listed

Good fit if

  • Kitchens where a flush handle matters more than a protruding bar
  • Buyers who want a 24-inch stainless dishwasher with 12 place settings

Skip if

  • People who want the lower 45 to 49 dB range
  • Anyone who requires ENERGY STAR certification

Verdict: A 12-place-setting Sharp built-in that stands out for its pocket-handle front.

8 Best front-touch third-rack model

Sharp SDW6506JS 24-inch Stainless Steel Dishwasher

Sharp SDW6506JS 24-inch Stainless Steel Dishwasher

Width
24 inch
Place settings
9 or more
Noise level
45 to 49 dB
Stainless steel
Yes

$499.99 (as of 11/05/2026 01:10 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

The Sharp SDW6506JS pairs a listed 12 place settings with a third rack, giving it a useful top shelf for utensils while keeping the noise range in the 45 to 49 dB band. Its front touch controls sit on the front edge, which some users prefer over top controls. It lacks ENERGY STAR certification, so efficiency-minded buyers should look at the certified Equator and KoolMore models.

Pros

  • Third rack is explicitly listed
  • Listed at 45 to 49 dB
  • Front touch controls are listed
  • 12 place settings listed

Cons

  • No ENERGY STAR certification is mentioned
  • No wash cycle count is listed
  • Capacity is 12 place settings, below the 14- and 15-place-setting models here

Good fit if

  • Buyers who want a third rack in a 12-place-setting machine
  • People who prefer front controls over top controls

Skip if

  • Anyone who needs more than 12 listed place settings
  • Anyone who requires ENERGY STAR certification

Verdict: A 12-place-setting Sharp with a third rack and front controls.

9 Best portable

SPT SD-6513WA 24″ Wide Portable Dishwasher with ENERGY STAR

SPT SD-6513WA 24″ Wide Portable Dishwasher with ENERGY STAR

Type
Portable
Width
24 inch
Place settings
9 or more
Stainless steel
Yes
ENERGY STAR
Yes

$932.58 (as of 11/05/2026 01:25 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

The SPT is the only portable model in this guide, so it suits kitchens that cannot take a built-in dishwasher. It still provides a useful full-size load with 10 place settings, 6 wash programs, ENERGY STAR certification, and a stainless steel tub. The tradeoff is that its listed capacity is the lowest here and no noise range is listed.

Pros

  • Only portable option in this list
  • 10 place settings listed
  • ENERGY STAR certified with 6 wash programs listed
  • Stainless steel tub listed

Cons

  • Listed 10 place settings is the lowest in this group
  • No noise range is listed
  • Portable design, so it is not a fixed undercounter installation

Good fit if

  • Renters or people who move between apartments
  • Households that cannot add permanent plumbing for a built-in

Skip if

  • Anyone who wants a higher listed capacity than 10 place settings
  • People who want a listed noise specification

Verdict: The portable with enough listed capacity and efficiency to serve as a practical full-size washer.

10 Best freestanding with a third rack

Equator 24" Freestanding Dishwasher

Equator 24" Freestanding Dishwasher

Width
24 inch
Place settings
9 or more
Stainless steel
Yes

$859.00 (as of 11/04/2026 22:47 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

This Equator freestanding model sits on its own rather than sliding under a counter, and it adds a third rack to a listed 14-place-setting stainless tub. That makes it a useful option for a laundry room, garage, or kitchen spot without a cabinet enclosure. The listing does not list a noise range or ENERGY STAR certification, so confirm those with the maker if they are deal-breakers.

Pros

  • Freestanding design is explicitly listed
  • 14 place settings listed
  • Third rack is listed
  • Stainless tub listed

Cons

  • No noise range is listed
  • No ENERGY STAR certification is mentioned
  • No wash cycle count is listed

Good fit if

  • Spaces where a freestanding machine will sit beside or under an open counter
  • Buyers who want 14 place settings plus a third rack

Skip if

  • Anyone who needs a built-in model enclosed under the counter
  • People who want a listed noise specification

Verdict: A large freestanding option with a third rack and no need for a cabinet cutout.

11 Best fast-wash built-in

Fulgor Milano F4DWT241 400 Series 24 Inch Wide 14 Place Setting Built-In

Fulgor Milano F4DWT241 400 Series 24 Inch Wide 14 Place Setting Built-In

Type
Built-in
Width
24 inch
Place settings
9 or more

$1,049.00 (as of 11/04/2026 23:00 PST - Details)

View on Amazon

The Fulgor Milano is the built-in in this guide that names a fast wash cycle, which is useful for quick turnaround on lightly soiled loads. It lists 14 place settings and a 24-inch top control design. Because no noise range, cycle count, or ENERGY STAR status is listed, verify those specifications with the maker if they matter.

Pros

  • Fast wash cycle is explicitly named
  • 14 place settings listed
  • 24-inch built-in with top controls listed

Cons

  • No noise range is listed
  • No ENERGY STAR certification is mentioned
  • No total cycle count or other cycle names are listed

Good fit if

  • Households that want a quick-load program in a large-capacity built-in
  • Buyers who prefer top-mounted controls

Skip if

  • People who need a listed noise specification
  • Anyone who requires ENERGY STAR certification

Verdict: A 14-place-setting built-in with a clearly named fast wash program.

12 Best drawer design

Fisher and Paykel Double DishDrawer Dishwasher

Fisher and Paykel Double DishDrawer Dishwasher

Type
Drawer
Place settings
9 or more
Stainless steel
Yes

View on Amazon

The Fisher & Paykel Double DishDrawer is the only drawer-style dishwasher here, and it lists a total 14-place-setting capacity spread across two drawers. You can run one drawer for a small load and keep the other drawer ready for later, something no single-tub pick in this list can do. The listing leaves out a noise range, ENERGY STAR status, and width, so check the maker for those details.

Pros

  • Two-drawer design, unique in this list
  • Listed 14 place settings across the two drawers
  • Stainless steel finish listed
  • Two-drawer layout allows one drawer to run while the other is being loaded

Cons

  • No noise level is listed
  • No ENERGY STAR certification is mentioned
  • No width or undercounter dimensions are listed

Good fit if

  • Households that often run half loads and want to avoid filling a single large tub
  • People who prefer a drawer front style over a conventional swing door

Skip if

  • Anyone who needs a listed noise range or ENERGY STAR certification
  • Standard 24-inch built-in installations that expect one single tub

Verdict: A flexible drawer-style large-capacity dishwasher, best for households that wash in smaller batches.

How they compare

#DishwasherTypeWidthPlace settingsNoise levelStainless steelENERGY STAR
1Empava 24 Inch Built-in DishwasherBuilt-in24 inch9 or more45 to 49 dBYesYes
2Bertazzoni DW24T3IT 24 Inch Wide 16 Place Setting Built-In FingerprintBuilt-in24 inch9 or morenot statedYesnot stated
3Equator 24″ Built-In Dishwasher with 3rd RackBuilt-in24 inch9 or more50 dB and upnot statedYes
4Equator 24-Inch Built-In DishwasherBuilt-in24 inch9 or more50 dB and upYesYes
5KoolMore 24 in. Panel Ready 14 Place Settings 45 DB DishwasherBuilt-in24 inch9 or more45 to 49 dBYesYes
6Kenmore 22-14632 24" Built-In DishwasherBuilt-in24 inch9 or more45 to 49 dBnot statedYes
7Sharp SDW6504MS Stainless Steel Dishwashernot stated24 inch9 or more50 dB and upYesnot stated
8Sharp SDW6506JS 24-inch Stainless Steel Dishwashernot stated24 inch9 or more45 to 49 dBYesnot stated
9SPT SD-6513WA 24″ Wide Portable Dishwasher with ENERGY STARPortable24 inch9 or morenot statedYesYes
10Equator 24" Freestanding Dishwashernot stated24 inch9 or morenot statedYesnot stated
11Fulgor Milano F4DWT241 400 Series 24 Inch Wide 14 Place Setting Built-InBuilt-in24 inch9 or morenot statednot statednot stated
12Fisher and Paykel Double DishDrawer DishwasherDrawernot stated9 or morenot statedYesnot stated

Our selection method

We started with a pool of 12 dishwasher models whose catalog entries all list a capacity of 9 or more place settings. We kept every entry in that pool, then grouped them by form factor. We compared only the specifications each seller publishes, such as listed place-setting counts, width, noise range, ENERGY STAR certification, wash cycles, and loading features. Where a listing omits a spec, we say it is not listed. Prices shown are live prices read from the store page at publication and will change. We did not test any dishwasher; the choices rest on catalog specifications and maker-published details.

What matters when choosing

What 9 or more place settings means

Every model in this guide qualifies under the same placement rule: the seller lists a capacity of at least 9 place settings. ENERGY STAR defines a standard-capacity dishwasher as one that holds at least eight place settings and six serving pieces, so the 9-or-more group sits above that minimum.

In practical terms, look beyond the number. Some listings give an exact count, such as 10, 12, 14, 15, or 16. Others only say 9 or more. If the exact count is not listed, assume the listing is only telling you the category, not the precise load.

Built-in, drawer, portable, or freestanding

Most of the picks are built-in 24-inch models made to slide under a counter and connect to the water supply. The Fisher & Paykel Double DishDrawer is a drawer-style machine; the SPT is portable and can be wheeled to a sink; the Equator freestanding model sits on its own.

For a standard full-size installation, a built-in is usually the straightforward choice. If you rent or move often, a portable with 10 place settings beats a built-in because it does not require permanent plumbing.

Noise specifications and what they tell you

Listings here give two noise values: 45 to 49 dB and 50 dB and up. A lower number means a quieter machine on the spec sheet. If you have an open kitchen or wash dishes near a living area, choose a model in the lower group such as the Kenmore, KoolMore, Empava, or Sharp SDW6506JS.

If a listing does not provide a noise value, ask the maker for one before relying on the machine's sound level.

ENERGY STAR certification matters

Six of the 12 models list ENERGY STAR certification. The ENERGY STAR program certifies products that meet government-set efficiency specifications, and the current dishwasher criteria limit energy use and water use for standard-capacity machines. If you want a certified model, check the listing for the ENERGY STAR mark.

Certified machines can also save water over time compared with older dishwashers or hand washing, although savings depend on your household.

Wash cycles and loading extras

The number of cycles ranges from 5 to 8 among the picks that list one. More cycles gives you more choices for delicate, heavy, or quick loads, but the names matter more than the count. For example, the Fulgor Milano lists a fast wash cycle, the Kenmore lists a sanitize rinse, and several Equator models include a third rack.

A third rack is a dedicated top area for utensils and small items, which can free up the main racks for plates and pots.

Questions

What does '9 or more place settings' mean?

Place settings count how many plates, bowls, cups, and utensils a dishwasher can hold in one load. A model with 9 or more place settings should handle a full service for nine or more people. ENERGY STAR defines standard-capacity dishwashers as those holding at least eight place settings and six serving pieces, so this group sits above that threshold.

Can a 9-or-more dishwasher fit a 24-inch opening?

Most built-ins in this guide list a 24-inch width, which is the standard size for a full-size dishwasher opening. Drawer and portable models do not always come with a width spec in the listing, so measure your cabinet or sink area before choosing. The portable SPT model also lists a 24-inch width but does not need a permanent built-in connection.

Is ENERGY STAR worth looking for?

ENERGY STAR is a voluntary efficiency label for products that meet government-set specifications. The current standard-capacity dishwasher criteria limit energy use and water use per cycle. Choosing a certified model can reduce water and energy use compared with hand washing, but the exact savings depend on your usage, water heater, and local utility rates.

Do I need a third rack?

A third rack is a shallow top drawer for utensils, spatulas, and other small items. It is not necessary, but it can make loading more convenient because it frees space in the main racks. In this list, the Sharp SDW6506JS, Equator built-in with third rack, and Equator freestanding model all list a third rack.

What if the listing does not list a noise value?

Some models in this guide do not list a noise value, including the Fisher & Paykel and the Bertazzoni. If sound level is important to you, choose a model with a listed 45 to 49 dB range or check the maker's published specification before installing it in a living area.

Change log

  • : First published.

Sources

Other guides to read