Best EdgeStar Dishwashers in 2026: 3 Picks Compared on Specs
The EdgeStar BIDW1802SS, an 18-inch built-in that states a 7 to 8 place-setting capacity, is the top pick for tight kitchens. It matches a compact width with the clearest spec sheet of the three EdgeStar models covered here, which also include a second 18-inch built-in and the countertop DWP63. Prices on this page are read live from the store listing at the time you view them, and the picks are chosen from the seller's and maker's published specifications, not from on-site testing.
3 picks from 6 dishwashers that match this guide with a price we can quote today. All prices are live and show when they were read.
Our picks in brief
| # | Pick | Dishwasher | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Best overall | EdgeStar BIDW1802SS 18 Inch Wide 8 Place Setting Built-In Dishwasher | $539.00 (as of 11/04/2026 22:43 PST - Details) |
| 2 | Best simple 18-inch built-in | EdgeStar 18 Inch Wide Built-In Dishwasher | Energy Star Rated | $499.00 (as of 11/04/2026 22:43 PST - Details) |
| 3 | Best countertop model | EdgeStar DWP63 21-5/8 Inch Wide 6 Place Setting Countertop Dishwasher | $349.00 (as of 11/04/2026 22:43 PST - Details) |
Find your match
- For 18-inch built-in slots: An 18-inch opening calls for the BIDW1802SS if you want a stated capacity, or the other 18-inch built-in if you only need the width. See pick 1
- For renters and countertop-only spaces: The DWP63 countertop model handles up to 6 place settings and needs no permanent plumbing install. See pick 3
- For minimum-spec builders: Choose the basic 18-inch built-in when width and install style matter more than published capacity. See pick 2
3 picks, up close
1 Best overall
EdgeStar BIDW1802SS 18 Inch Wide 8 Place Setting Built-In Dishwasher
- Type
- Built-in
- Width
- 18 inch
- Place settings
- 7 to 8
$539.00 (as of 11/04/2026 22:43 PST - Details)
The only 18-inch built-in here with a stated capacity: 7 to 8 place settings. It is the most complete spec sheet of the three and the natural starting point for an 18-inch opening, and it gives you a plan for how many dishes fit per load.
Pros
- Stated 18-inch width fits openings where a standard 24-inch model will not
- Holds 7 to 8 place settings, the largest stated capacity of the three picks
- Built-in design keeps counters clear and avoids a faucet hookup
- Only pick here that states both dimensions and capacity
Cons
- Capacity sits below a standard model's 8 or more place settings plus 6 serving pieces, so big loads need two runs
- Built-in installation requires a water and drain hookup
- Place settings stated as 7 to 8: plan for the lower end with large plates
Good fit if
- Kitchens with an 18-inch-wide opening that want a true built-in
- Households of one or two who wash a load every day or two
Skip if
- Anyone with a standard 24-inch opening, where a full-size model holds more
- Households that cook heavily and regularly run large plated dinners
Verdict: The pick when you need an 18-inch built-in and want a stated place-setting count to plan around.
2 Best simple 18-inch built-in
EdgeStar 18 Inch Wide Built-In Dishwasher | Energy Star Rated
- Type
- Built-in
- Width
- 18 inch
- Place settings
- 7 to 8
- ENERGY STAR
- Yes
$499.00 (as of 11/04/2026 22:43 PST - Details)
An 18-inch-wide built-in with no stated place-setting count. It covers the same width class as the top pick with less specified detail, making it a fit for buyers who need the size on paper and care mainly about the built-in format.
Pros
- 18-inch width suits tight kitchen layouts
- Built-in form keeps counters clear
- Same brand and width class as the top pick, giving a second option in the same opening
Cons
- Place-setting capacity not stated by the seller
- No washing or drying cycle details given in the listing specs
- Compact width means compact loads compared with a standard model
Good fit if
- Buyers focused on the 18-inch width and built-in install who will verify capacity from the maker or manual
- Remodels where the opening is already cut at 18 inches
Skip if
- Anyone who needs a stated place-setting number before deciding
- Households that want a countertop model to avoid installation work
Verdict: A serviceable 18-inch built-in when the exact capacity matters less than the width and installation style.
3 Best countertop model
EdgeStar DWP63 21-5/8 Inch Wide 6 Place Setting Countertop Dishwasher
- Type
- Countertop
- Place settings
- Up to 6
$349.00 (as of 11/04/2026 22:43 PST - Details)
The only countertop EdgeStar in this pool, sized at 21-5/8 inches wide with a stated capacity up to 6 place settings. It pairs the no-install form with a small footprint for spaces where a built-in cannot go.
Pros
- No permanent plumbing install: it runs on a countertop
- Stated capacity up to 6 place settings suits small households
- 21-5/8-inch-wide body still fits many galley counters
- Black finish shown in the listing
Cons
- Smallest stated capacity of the three: large loads need multiple cycles
- Takes up usable counter space while in place
- ENERGY STAR notes compact models can use more energy over time than standard units because they hold less
Good fit if
- Renters who cannot modify plumbing or cabinetry
- Apartments and offices with a tap nearby and limited dish volume
Skip if
- Households that run more than a load a day
- Anyone with an 18-inch built-in opening ready to install
Verdict: The countertop answer for small dish volumes and no-install kitchens.
How they compare
| # | Dishwasher | Type | Width | Place settings | Noise level | Stainless steel | ENERGY STAR |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | EdgeStar BIDW1802SS 18 Inch Wide 8 Place Setting Built-In Dishwasher | Built-in | 18 inch | 7 to 8 | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 2 | EdgeStar 18 Inch Wide Built-In Dishwasher | Energy Star Rated | Built-in | 18 inch | 7 to 8 | not stated | not stated | Yes |
| 3 | EdgeStar DWP63 21-5/8 Inch Wide 6 Place Setting Countertop Dishwasher | Countertop | not stated | Up to 6 | not stated | not stated | not stated |
Our selection method
The pool for this guide holds the three EdgeStar dishwashers from the catalogue's six priced listings after near-duplicates were folded. With the brand filter applied, the shortlist is the pool itself: two 18-inch built-ins and one 21-5/8-inch countertop model. We ranked on the specifications each listing states (type, width in inches, and place-setting capacity) and flag any field the seller leaves blank rather than guessing. Prices shown beside each pick are the live store price with the clock time it was read, and the page refreshes them on load. Nobody on the site has operated these dishwashers; the picks rest on the seller's and maker's published information and the catalogue data.
What matters when choosing
Built-in or countertop first
The first decision is installation, not capacity. A built-in sits inside a cabinet opening and needs a water supply and a drain connection, so it suits kitchens with free plumbing and a ready slot. A countertop model avoids permanent plumbing and can sit anywhere with a water source nearby, but it occupies counter space while it works. If you cannot modify your kitchen, the countertop DWP63 is the only EdgeStar here that avoids that work.
Width matters as much as capacity
The two built-ins in this pool are 18 inches wide, which is narrower than the standard 24-inch dishwasher footprint. The countertop DWP63 is wider at 21-5/8 inches, even though it does not go in a cabinet, so measure both the opening and the counter spot before you order. A 24-inch opening cannot take an 18-inch unit without filler panels, and an 18-inch opening cannot take a 21-5/8-inch countertop model.
Place settings: what fits in a compact load
ENERGY STAR defines a standard dishwasher as one holding 8 or more place settings plus 6 serving pieces, and a compact model as one holding less than that. The EdgeStar built-in lists 7 to 8 place settings and the countertop lists up to 6, so both fall in the compact class by that definition. A place setting typically covers a dinner plate, saucer, bowl, cup, glass, and flatware; with large plates, plan for the lower end of the stated range.
Read the EnergyGuide label
Every dishwasher sold in the US carries a yellow EnergyGuide label that shows estimated yearly electricity use and estimated annual operating cost. Use that label to compare models of the same size class before you buy. ENERGY STAR also warns that compact-capacity models can use more energy over time than standard models, because smaller loads can mean more cycles for the same volume of dishes.
ENERGY STAR thresholds for compact models
The current ENERGY STAR criteria for dishwashers, effective July 19, 2023, set a compact allowance of 155 kWh per year and 2.0 gallons per cycle, while standard models may use up to 240 kWh per year and 3.2 gallons per cycle. Those are qualification thresholds, not per-model figures: whether a specific EdgeStar qualifies is not stated in any of the three listings here, so check the model's own certification before relying on the label.
Run full loads to save energy and water
ENERGY STAR's best practice guidance notes that a dishwasher uses about the same amount of energy and water regardless of the number of dishes inside, so it is most efficient when you run it full. For small-capacity machines like these, that means waiting a day or two when the load is light, rather than running a half-empty cycle. Scraping dishes instead of rinsing them also cuts the total water and energy used.
Questions
Do all three EdgeStar picks fit an 18-inch opening?
No. Two are 18-inch built-ins designed for a cabinet opening. The DWP63 countertop model is 21-5/8 inches wide and sits on the counter, so it needs a clear counter spot rather than an undercabinet slot. Measure the space before choosing, and remember the countertop unit is physically wider despite having the smallest capacity.
What counts as a place setting for these dishwashers?
A place setting is usually a dinner plate, saucer, bowl, cup, glass, and flatware. EdgeStar lists the 18-inch built-in at 7 to 8 place settings and the countertop at up to 6. ENERGY STAR treats compact models as those holding fewer than 8 place settings plus 6 serving pieces, which puts all three of these EdgeStar picks in the compact class.
Do compact dishwashers use less energy than standard ones?
The current ENERGY STAR compact criteria allow up to 2.0 gallons per cycle and 155 kWh per year, while standard models allow up to 3.2 gallons and 240 kWh per year. Even so, ENERGY STAR notes compact models can use more energy over time because they hold less, so you may run more cycles for the same dish volume. Full loads are the key to keeping that in check.
Is a countertop dishwasher a permanent installation?
No. The countertop DWP63 avoids cabinet installation and permanent plumbing, which suits renters and offices. It still needs a water connection wherever it sits and takes up usable counter space while in place. If you have an 18-inch cabinet opening and plumbing already there, a built-in model is a cleaner long-term fit.
How should I compare energy use before buying?
Look for the yellow EnergyGuide label, which shows estimated yearly electricity use and estimated operating cost for that model. Because those estimates assume a typical cycle pattern, they help most when you compare machines within the same size class. The ENERGY STAR certification status of these EdgeStar models is not stated in the listings, so verify it from the maker before treating any of them as certified.
Should I pre-rinse dishes for a compact EdgeStar?
ENERGY STAR advises scraping rather than rinsing, because rinsing adds to the total water and energy used and today's detergents are designed to do the cleaning. Run full loads whenever possible, since a dishwasher uses about the same energy and water no matter how many dishes are inside. Waiting a day for a full load is more efficient than two half-empty cycles.
Change log
- : First published.


